What Are The Tennessee Adoption Laws

Tennessee’s adoption laws are written to focus on the adopted child’s well-being.

Who Can Be Adopted?

Any person, including adults can be adopted.

When is Child’s Consent Needed?

Children 14 years and older must consent to the adoption.

Who May Adopt?

Any person who meets the following criteria may adopt a child in Tennessee:

  • You must be 18 years or older to do a private adoption and at least 21 years old to do a foster care adoption
  • Tennessee resident for at least 6 consecutive months if in the military (residency requirement may be waived under certain circumstances)
  • Must be a Tennessee resident at the time of filing the petition

What is the State Agency Responsible for Adoptions?

Tennessee Department of Children’s Services

Statute of Limitations to an Challenge Adoption

The appeal must be filed within 30 days of finalizing the adoption.

You can learn more about the Tennessee adoption laws https://www.tn.gov/dcs/program-areas/foster-care-and-adoption/adoption.html. If you have other questions or concerns, our Knoxville adoption lawyers can help you.

Click https://g.co/kgs/AePWRw to contact us.